~~~ Raising Crows ~~~

For the past few years we have had a pair of crows nesting in or near our yard.  The process of raising their fledgling continues long after the young bird has left its nest.  For days on end, while it scuttles around finding shelter in the underbrush, the parents caw to it, feed it and warn-off any intruders.  I am an intruder.

IMG_2743

I continue to remind them, “Hey, I live here too!” but they just don’t get it.  Ah well, they keep squirrels, hawks and starlings away, and that is a fair trade.

Do you see them in the canopy?  One is on the left silhouetted against the light green leaves, the other is on the right it’s head and beak outlined by the sky. And while I’m at it, did you see my beagle in yesterday’s Wordless Wednesday?  I even had to point her out to my husband!!

This entry was posted in birds, landscape gardening, nature, ornithology, outdoors, pacific northwest, Photographs, wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~~~ Raising Crows ~~~

  1. de Wets Wild says:

    Isn’t it just so lovely that they consider your garden a safe place to raise a family!

    • Lindy Le Coq says:

      That has been a goal as long as I have lived here (30 years) and it is a delight to have so many resident and migratory birds call my yard home — or at least a safe haven as they pass through!

Leave a Reply

