~Late Spring = Early Summer ~ In A Vase On Monday ~

For the first time since September, we are experiencing a run of more than two days of sunshine. What a joy to get up in the morning and walk into the gardens with a mug of coffee and nippers in hand, to make a posy for my deck table!

P1060793

Columbine seeds freely here so I can only say this is a Aquilegia hybrid.

P1060796

The Brunera macrophylla ‘Heartleaf alkanet’ is one I added last year. All the Brunera blossoms are fading, but the lovely heart-shaped leaves and textured light of the plant will grace my shade gardens all summer through. To bring some green into the posy, I added a sprig of Mexican Orange, Choisya ternata ‘Sundance’ . For lightness and lift I finished with the tiny pink blossoms of an unknown sedum.

P1060799

The vase is one I found at a thrift shop — blown glass with a lime green interior and celadon exterior.

P1060801

If you have the name of this sedum, please leave a comment. I spent over an hour searching my notebooks and on-line to no avail!

IMG_7927

Here’s to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for keeping this fair-weather gardener going throughout a wet winter and early spring!

This entry was posted in flowers, Gardening, In a Vase on Monday, landscape gardening, nature, pacific northwest, plants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~Late Spring = Early Summer ~ In A Vase On Monday ~

  1. I always enjoy your garden posts. Once we get settled in our new house, I want to get some nice flower gardens going, but it’s a challenge in the Texas Hill Country, where it can be very hot and dry, but with four fairly distinct seasons. I am going to have call in an expert.

  2. Olga says:

    Love your floral display, Lindy. Enjoy the sunny weather. ❤

Leave a Reply

